Lanka Premier League: The History, Winners and LPL 2023 All-Team Squad


Lanka Premier League – LPL History

The LPL – Lanka Premier League is a professional Twenty20 foment Cricket League hosted in Sri Lanka each year from 2020, with five teams competing:

  • Colombo Strikers
  • Dambulla Aura
  • Galle Titans
  • Jaffna Kings
  • B-Love Kandy

The LPL is one of Sri Lanka’s most popular T20 cricket leagues. It has attracted some of the biggest names in international cricket, including Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Lasith Malinga. The league has also been a major boost for Sri Lankan cricket, providing a much-needed platform for young players to showcase their talent.

Here are some additional details about the LPL Tournament:

  • The league is played in a 20-over format.
  • Each team has a squad of 15 players, including 10 local players and 5 overseas players.
  • The tournament is broadcast live in Sri Lanka and around the world.
  • The LPL has a prize pool of $4.5 million and is worth ₹372 million (INR)

The LPL is a major success for Sri Lankan cricket. It has helped to revive the popularity of the game in the country and has provided a platform for young players to showcase their talent. The league is also a major source of revenue for Sri Lankan cricket, helping to fund the development of the game in the country.

The LPL is a famous cricket tournament in Sri Lanka and it is broadcast live in Sri Lanka on Star Sports and Swarnavahini. It is also broadcast live in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, the Middle East, and North Africa on Star Sports, FanCode, and other television and streaming platforms.

LPL Winners List (2020 – 2022)

YearWinnersRunner UP
2022Jaffna KingsColombo Stars
2021Jaffna KingsGalle Gladiators
2020Jaffna StallionsGalle Gladiators

LPL 2023 Venues & Teams Info

The Srilanka LPL 2023 will begin on July 30 and will run until August 20, 2023. The Sri Lanka LPL 2023 Tournament will take place in three venues:

  • R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo
  • Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele, Kandy
  • Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota

The Sri Lanka LPL 2023 is scheduled for 34 matches, with both teams playing another team once during the round-robin round. The top 4 teams will proceed to the playoffs, which will comprise a qualifier, the elimination round, and the final match for the championship.

The Lanka Premier League – LPL Auction 2023 featured 120 players, of which 80 were overseas players and 40 were Sri Lanka domestic players. The tournament will begin on July 31 and will feature five teams: Colombo Stars, Dambulla Giants, Jaffna Kings, Kandy Tuskers, and Galle Gladiators.

Here are some more details about the LPL teams that are participating in the 2023 LPL

  • Colombo Stars: The Colombo Stars are the defending champions of the LPL. They have a strong batting line-up, led by Avishka Fernando and Kusal Mendis. Their bowling attack is also good, led by Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep.
  • Dambulla Giants: The Dambulla Giants are one of the most successful teams in the LPL. They have won the tournament twice, in 2020 and 2021. In Dambulla Giants Team, Kusal Perera with Charith Asalanka lead their batting line-up and Lasith Malinga with Isuru Udana lead their bowling attack.
  • Jaffna Kings: The Jaffna Kings are the most popular team in the LPL. They have a solid fan base in Sri Lanka. In Jaffna Kings Team, Thisara Perera with Dhananjaya de Silva leads their batting line-up and Maheesh Theekshana with Suranga Lakmal leads their bowling attack.
  • Kandy Tuskers: The Kandy Tuskers are one of the newer teams in the LPL. They have not yet won the tournament but have a good chance of doing so in 2023. In Kandy Tuskers Team, Kusal Janith Perera with Charith Madushanka leads their batting line-up, and Wanindu Hasaranga leads their bowling attack with Chamika Karunaratne.
  • Galle Gladiators: The Galle Gladiators are the most unpredictable team in the LPL. They have the potential to win the tournament, but they have also been known to lose to weaker teams. In Galle Gladiators Team, Bhanuka Rajapaksa with Avishka Gunawardene leads their batting line-up and Mohammad Amir with Nuwan Kulasekara leads their bowling attack.

The 2023 LPL is sure to be a thrilling tournament with a lot of exciting cricket on offer. The tournament is expected to attract some of the biggest names in world cricket, and it will be a great opportunity for Sri Lankan players to showcase their talent on the international stage.

LPL 2023 all Teams Full Squad

Suresh Raina Joins the LPL 2023

Suresh Raina, a former India cricketer and one of the finest batters in IPL history for the Chennai Super Kings, was among the players expected to be sold out during the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 auction.

Suresh Raina is a former Indian cricketer who retired from international cricket in 2022. He is a highly experienced and successful cricketer, having played in 226 ODIs and 78 T20Is for India, scoring 5615 and 1605 runs respectively. He is also a 4 Times IPL champion with Chennai Super Kings.

It will be interesting to see how Raina fares in the Lanka Premier League. He will be looking to continue his excellent form and help his team win the tournament.

Breaking News – LPL 2023 Postponed

The Sri Lanka Lanka Premier League – LPL 2023 has been postponed. The tournament was originally scheduled to take place from July 30 to August 20, 2023, but it has been pushed back to a later date due to financial difficulties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *